Minister Sinarimbo Lauds the 28  BARMM SGLG Passers

Minister of the Ministry of the Interior and Local Government Atty Naguib G Sinarimbo congratulates the twenty-eight Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG) passers of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region In Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

 “We congratulate the 28 LGUs in the region.” said Minister of the Interior and Local Government Atty Naguib G Sinarimbo. He described the achievement as an improvement that augurs well with the call of BARMM Chief Minister Ahod Murad Ebrahim for moral governance, and for the regional government and LGUs to create a synergy to hasten the phase of development in the region.

"We will push further, and in the years to come, we hope to demonstrate greater improvement in the governance of the whole region,” Minister Sinarimbo said, as he acknowledged the contribution of the defunct Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao government in laying the foundation for the outstanding performance of the LGUs.

SGLG 2019 required LGUs to pass all seven governance areas namely: Financial Administration; Disaster Preparedness; Social Protection; Peace and Order; Business Friendliness and Competitiveness; Environmental Protection; and Tourism Culture and the Arts.

In 2017, the DILG had required LGUs to deliver on four core areas and one essential area to get the award.

For 2018, the LGUs were required to deliver on all seven areas.

The number of BARMM passers have grown even with SGLG’s parameter upgrades. This year's BARMM SGLG passers are composed of 2 provinces, 1 city and 25 municipalities, with a remarkable 18% increase from the 23 awardees in 2017.

The SGLG CY 2019 Passers: the Provinces of Basilan and Maguindanao, City of Lamitan, Maluso and Sumisip in Basilan; Balabagan, Buadiposo Buntong, Calanugas, Kapatagan, Piagapo, and Taraka in Lanao del Sur; Barira, Buldon, Datu Abdullah Sangki, Datu Paglas, Datu Piang, Guindulungan, Kabuntalan, Matanog, Paglat, Shariff Aguak, South Upi, Sultan Kudarat, Sultan sa Barongis, and Upi in Maguindanao; Talipao in Sulu; and Sibutu and Simunul in Tawi-Tawi.

Recipients of this year's SGLG will be conferred with the SGLG marker; eligibility to the Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) to finance their local development initiatives; and an access to other programs and capacity development assistance from the DILG

Article by: Helen P. Ahmad - MLGOO V

2019 List of Seal of Good Local Governance Awardess

Social Media Page